Robin Williams

Part of my childhood was destroyed last night, with the sad news of Robin Williams’ death. Normally, I try not to linger too long on the death of celebrities – it feels wrong to intrude on something so personal. However, in this case, I feel it would be criminal to not reflect on what a brilliant actor Williams was. My fondest memory of him was as Peter in Hook, one of my classic childhood films that I still watch today. He was the Genie in Aladdin, Mrs Doubtfire, played Jumanji, and was the scientist who discovered Flubber. He pulled off serious roles in One Hour Photo, Dead Poets Society and Good Will Hunting. To put it simply, he was a legend of Hollywood, and chances are everyone had seen at least one film starring him. A great loss for the film and television industry, and a man who deserves nothing but respect.

Leave a comment